There were 35 ‘virtual’ attendees for the BGA conference and AGM on Thursday 12th November.

BGA Chair Richard Ainsworth welcomed everyone and introduced interim Assistant Director Julien Kramer who thanked governors for their work and described the current local context and the view that Bury is doing a reasonable job. Julien then went on to introduce Bury’s new Executive Director of Children’s Services Sheila Durr.

Sheila reiterated her thanks for the work that governors are doing in Bury’s schools and particularly for their support for Bury’s headteachers who have been working incredibly hard in dealing with the Covid 19 pandemic and keeping schools open. It is important that the morale of headteachers is maintained. Sheila went on to say that she will champion governance and stressed that the Chief Executive of the Council, the Leader and the Lead Member are all passionate about education.

Richard then welcomed Emma Knights, the Chief Executive of the NGA, who delivered the key note address. Emma’s PowerPoint presentation which she referred to in her address can be seen here:

2020 Nov Bury Governor Assn conference EK WS

Emma stressed the importance of staff and leader wellbeing in schools and referenced the evaluation tool that the NGA have produced to support governors in this work. She also emphasised the vital importance of the clerk’s role in supporting effective governance.

Next to speak was Helen Knowles from Inspiring Governance who talked about the recruitment and retention of governors. Helen’s email can be accessed on the link below:

Bury Governors 12th Nov 2020_FINAL_

Sheila, Emma and Helen then took questions from governors before handing back to Richard to chair the AGM.

The following people where elected into the BGA officer roles:

Chair – Richard Ainsworth

Vice-chair – Mark Granby (and BGD lead)

Secretary/Treasurer – Elma Knowles

Executive Committee members elected are John Mallon, Jean Hinckley, Margaret Wild and Janet Turner.

Richard appealed for governors to volunteer to join the executive committee.